Skip to content

Taking off the weight.

January 14, 2017

Last night I began this blog as a new step in my journey, after watching a video of a young man who had weighted 700 pounds, and had not been out of his home in four years shared his story on bodybuilding.com. It broke my heart, and it made me think because, I could easily be that guy. I weighed myself, and the feelings I had inside motivated me to do something about it. I realize that motivation is not enough to keep going, it is just the catalyst. Much like maintaining a car and taking good care of it, so do we need to take care of our bodies. In my case, my body is running rough, a result of not taking better care of it. I won’t profess that I know how to eat nutritionally, nor exercise regularly, and that is going to change. Part of this change will require commitment on my part to not give up, to educate myself about healthier food choices, meals and options. Additionally, I will need to find out what exercises to practice, ones that work for me. I will have to learn how to work out and manage pain, a result of old injuries and a more recent one that affects my lower back and legs at times.

At home is where I will likely exercise, except when I get out for walks. Tonight, I spent a half hour watching Jeopardy and Wheel of Fortune, so I walked in place for 10 minutes just to warm up,then I worked another 25 minutes walking in place, sidestepping, doing circular arm motions forward and backwards, and basic curling motions with a light weight bar. It was a good start, and I drank a half liter of water in the process. What makes me feel confident about this is I can do this several times a day, especially when I get up in the morning, later in the day or at night when things a bit more calm for me. I wish that I could go to the gym, but I lack the resources financially to commit to a gym (and I talked to a person at Chuze gym this afternoon about options, but it is not going to work in my favor at this time). I have water bottles, some basic weights and resistance band–and determination.

I am not sure how all of this is going to work out. I know that I feel optimistic for the first time in my life, especially after having gone through so many hardships over the years, the last 6 years being particularly difficult after my mother passed from cancer. I was devastated, and felt I could not talk about just how hurt I felt. Now, I feel like God has been healing me, and I know my mother has had true healing. She would want me to be happy and to get fit, and not let myself fall to pieces. I cannot think of a better way to honor my mother’s memory.

I will continue to update my thoughts on this journey of weight loss.

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

