Skip to content

When some days are a bust.

January 15, 2017

My Saturday was not productive at all. Today, I spent most of my day unable to move. My back, my hips, foot and muscles seemed to be working against me. It is one of the reasons that I cannot sleep well at night. Old injuries are a bugger. I am struggling to feel well most of the time because of these old injuries, as well as the most recent one caused by a car accident a year ago when my truck was totaled. I cannot sleep at night because I am as neurotic as a cat, and also from trying to relax or meditate to take my thoughts off of the pain I feel. I have thought much in the last year about how my sleeplessness has affected my weight, my ability to eat at regular intervals, and to think with any sense of clarity. My boss told me that it was my stress and anxiety was one of the reasons he was letting me go after 3.5 years of working part-time for him. I am not really bitter, and I no longer have to breathe second hand smoke that was making me feel continually sick most of the time. I have asthma and that is trouble enough.

I try not to negate the progress I have been making in my life the last few months. Sure, I am broke as (fill in the blank), and I am recognizing what I have to be thankful for because I am not defined by my circumstances or anything else. I realize that there are going to be days I cannot work out even when I want to exercise. I have the motivation to better my life. Discipline is in its infancy, and that is why you will hear some people say, “take baby steps.” I think the thing to remember when you are committing to losing weight, and making a better “you,” is to not let yourself get discouraged. I was reading an article  not to long ago about thirteen things that strong minded people do not do, and one of those things was that they do not expect immediate results. Additionally, they embrace change, and have definite goals. I am at the beginning stages of learning patience and grace for myself in this journey. I am dedicated, and I also recognized that this process is going to require some really hard work, and there will be times I feel defeat, but I look to the victories much more often.

One of the best things you can do for yourself is to listen to your body. If your body hurts, let it rest. There is no sense in being over ambitious and then hurting yourself and making yourself useless. Expect setbacks. Allow room for growth. Challenge yourself in different ways. When you are hurting, do your best to remain positive and not grumble, as this only pushes people away.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

