Skip to content

Emotions are not weakness.

February 19, 2017

It has been an up and down kind of week. In my last blog entry I talked about spiritual warfare. I have often discovered that many people do not like to talk about this sort of thing. I am one of those people. However, it is sometimes necessary to discuss it because, those of us who are believers do not wrestle with flesh and blood matters. We fight the things that would hinder our walk with Jesus. Sometimes it drains you emotionally, and that is what I want to talk about.

This week in my Rooted Bible Study group we talked about ways that the enemy, Satan, speaks lies to us, and how we listen to those lies. It is when we believe those lies that makes things difficult for our lives. In my own life, it stems from a deeps seed of rejection. Often, through much of my life, I have heard those voices telling me that I am a failure, I am no good, or I am not a good person, or even that God does not love me. Right? I know you have probably heard those thoughts too. I sometimes think those thoughts are so negative and condemning, that I recognize when I am being antagonized spiritually.

This  last week I heard a lot of those taunting thoughts, and I recognized them because they try to instill fear, worry, anxiety, and depression, trying to rob me of any peace or joy I might have had. I am not working at the moment, so you can imagine there are different kinds of thoughts at work. This week I felt anxious, and depressed. When I started to worry how I was going to pay a bill, or make it through the next couple of weeks, I heard the voice of fear tell me that I was not going to make it. They are just subtle voices, but I have learned to put those thoughts in God’s hands. When I am anxious, some of my Christian friends automatically refer me to Philippians 4:6-7, but for me it is verse 8 that really counts. In case you have not read this passage, let me share it with you, because I think you will benefit from reading it, too.

Philippians 4:6-8New Testament for Everyone (NTE)

Don’t worry about anything. Rather, in every area of life let God know what you want, as you pray and make requests, and give thanks as well. And God’s peace, which is greater than we can ever understand, will keep guard over your hearts and minds in King Jesus.

For the rest, my dear family, these are the things you should think through: whatever is true, whatever is holy, whatever is upright, whatever is pure, whatever is attractive, whatever has a good reputation; anything virtuous, anything praiseworthy.

New Testament for Everyone (NTE)Scripture quotations from The New Testament for Everyone are copyright © Nicholas Thomas Wright 2011.

This week especially was difficult for me as I mentioned, and this passage helped me. When you start feeling like you cannot handle life, feeling hopeless, filled with doubt and despair. remember, you can take control. We are empowered in Christ, and he is greater in us than the spirit of this world. What helped me to get through each day was remembering what is true. I ask God in my prayer time to show me what is true, through scripture. I do not dismiss the antagonistic thoughts, I choose not to receive their indignation or falsehoods. Knowing what God thinks about you is half the battle, and He is for us not against us. He loves us. I struggled with areas of unbelief, and now I have chosen to believe what God says through His word. Those thoughts of negativity can affect you if you let them, but you can choose to not let them become truths in your life.

One of the things that set me off this week was my weight. I gained 5 pounds. It might just be water weight, but I felt discouraged nonetheless. I look in the mirror, and I do not recognize myself. I hear those thoughts saying I am fat, or ugly, or no woman will ever want me, or I am going to be single the rest of my life. All lies from the enemy. God is not like that. I have learned that when I am still, God helps me clear my thoughts through prayer and submitting to Him through reading His word. If I am being redundant, it is only so that I can emphasize believing the truth that comes from scripture and not what you feel you know or think you know. I am learning from my quiet times that God is beginning to heal me, and equip me to better protect myself from the negativity and pain caused by dwelling on the lies. If you are uncertain if you are beginning to believe lies in your thoughts, ask God for wisdom and discernment, and He will give it to you. If you are an emotional individual like me, it does not make you week to be emotional. You are actually much stronger.  God uses our difficulties to build character (-a thought for a different blog I will share).

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

