Skip to content

Friday Night Music Playlist No. 3

February 20, 2017

(Sunday edition)

I meant to write my music playlist on Friday night. It has been a pretty emotional time for me in the last week. I have been struggling with my weight. It could be anything from water weight or not eating correctly or meds, or a combination. At this point, it is something I am working through as well as other not so fun issues. Some would just call it “life”. They are probably right, but lacking sensitivity, empathy or compassion. It is easy to get hurt if you let things get to you. Sometimes people mean well, and other times it is just throwing gasoline on the fire to an already collapsing building.

Sometimes I listen to music to ease my pain. How about you? Music is good therapy. When I was a teenager, in the era of almost post record players and turntables and early cassette recorders, I used to make mix tapes of songs I really likes. Actually, I still have some, just put away. Songs speak to people. Songs communicate to the human spirit. Songs warm our dimming hearts. Songs renew our inner strength and sometimes songs inspire hope. Songs often help us when we have the blues. Songs help us play, feel, grow, love and a whole other range of emotions.  Tonight, I suppose I will share an album that lets you feel some of those emotions.

Tears for Fears: The Hurting (1983)

Tears for Fears is and always will be one of my favorite performers. I first heard them in junior high school. I was only familiar with a couple of their songs then, and since then have grown to enjoy listening to their music. This album seems appropriate for tonight as I wind down from cold and gloominess of this Sunday. Memories Fade is a pensive song for me. It makes me think about loss, and how memories still linger, especially when you want to love someone and that person is no longer there. This song also makes me think about broken relationships and dealing with the pain cause by one or the other. The song mentions, “Memories fade, but the scars still linger.” I think, in a way this song makes me feel how I have experienced hurt caused by someone, and though I want to forgive that person, the “scars” are still there reminding me of why we are not together.It is poetic. I like this song because I can relate to it. I guess that is another thing that songs do, they help you relate or identify with something. Another song I like on this album is Suffer The Children which has a great drum beat. It is a beautiful song and poignant. I think, if I understand the song right, it is speaking on a passage from Matthew 19:14 in the Bible where Jesus is talking about protecting children, look after those who are not able to take care of themselves. However, I do not think Tears for Fears actually intended any more than to say that having children is not always easy, things, “don’t turn out the way it should”. You have pleasure. You have pain. You have a gift, and how do you respond. It is a song about the innocence of childhood, shared memories; it is many things. I just like the song. Like many of the songs that came out of England and the USA in the 1980s, the keyboards, and syncopated drumbeats are usually what grab my attention. The last song I want to mention is Change. Even though I have enjoyed the album as a whole, I love the intro to Change. The marimbas and keyboards work really well in this early digital song. I remember first seeing this on MTV when I was a teen, and thinking about the video was surreal. Additionally, I like the bass line rhythms and vocal harmonies. Like contemporaries of their time Tears for Fears were trend setters, and their music still has longevity. I recommend this album for anyone who wants to add this to one’s 80s playlist. It makes me thankful for Pandora, and I can create such a list.

Tonight, I only wanted to talk about this one album and how it has stayed with me all these years. I will endeavor this week to fish through my music to have something more for next Friday. I have not decided yet, and I think it will be better if I only talk about 2 or 3 albums. I sometimes get a little ambitious, then take off more than I can chew, and I want to have fun writing about this. Other artists I liked during this time were: Duran Duran, U2, Depeche Mode, Petshop Boys, and other mainstream British Rock. Perhaps, I will get to write about them soon.

5 Comments
  1. nice share, haven’t heard Tears for Fears in ages! Overall, do you have a favorite song of theirs?

    • From the Hurting, Memories fade is probably my favorite as is Change. From other albums I like Sowing the Seeds of Love. That is probably my favorite.

  2. definitely. I’ll need to give those a relisten 🙂

    I was wondering if you were on FB at all? We have an awesome community of music lovers and sharers, would you be interested in sharing your articles with us? Check us out: https://www.facebook.com/groups/musicmoguls/

    • FB- JediKirk, just send me a request. Sounds good to me. I am a pretty introverted music lover. I don’t get out much, and I realize I need to make new friends. Consider this an invite.

  3. most definitely! Will shoot you a message there 🙂

Leave a Reply

