Skip to content

More thoughts on being positive.

February 24, 2017

I found out this week that I have shingles. It is pretty painful, thankfully it is localize and not all over my body. Shingles is related to Chicken Pox, and if you have not had Chicken Pox, then it is contagious to you. Shingles is quite painful, and it attacks the nerves, and leaves blisters that will scab after a given time. I have heard it can take 2-4 weeks to get over shingles, depending on the severity. Having said this, I really need to stay positive. I am not going to let this circumstance get me down. When you have moments like this and feel vulnerable, realize there are other people suffering worse condition,  like a 10 year old boy in Texas who is living through cancer. He is a trooper. It breaks my heart when I see children suffer. I felt like God wanted me to pray for him, and I hope that this young man will survive. I know firsthand how chemotherapy affects the body, as I witnessed my mother’s own body fail. I think this boy has a chance. It is my prayer that Drake will survive cancer, and be allowed to grow up.

The following is part II of my thoughts on being positive:

I am learning to smile more.
Be happier and listen to my inner voice.
Do not be afraid.
Draw each day, sing, and write.
Be inspired.
Give to God however I can.
Trust my instincts.
Be faithful and repay my debts.
Have hope ;
Read my Bible daily.
Entertain good thoughts and dismiss the bad.
Think about what is true, right, lovely, pure, whatever is praiseworthy.
Believe good things will happen.
Do not compromise my beliefs- I guess this is integrity?
Realize I am not alone.
Spend less time seeking approval or acceptance.
Let go of the negative thoughts-the sooner this is done
the easier it is to move forward.
Avoid toxic people.
Find what makes me happy.

 

This is not an exhaustive list by any means, and they are just a springboard for living more positively. Life is short. Change the way you think and feel about live. Love life. Love others. Celebrate God’s goodness in your life.

 

6 Comments
  1. Great post I’m glad I stumbled upon this!

  2. I hear SO many contradicting things about shingles…when I was a kid, they wanted us to get chicken pox, so we wouldn’t get shingles when we were older. NOW, I hear commercials for a shingles vaccine – they say that if you HAD chicken pox, you’re at risk. Which is it?? Did you ever have chicken pox?

    • I had chickenpox ate 9 years old. My doctor says I am pretty young to have shingles. It usually happens in people over 50. It has felt like a hundred bee stings in one spot. Not fun. It takes about 2 to 4 weeks to clear up. I am just starting to scab, but still contagious to those who have not had chickenpox. I hope you are doing well.

      • I’m sorry you’re having to go through this! But I’m so confused. So pretty much you can get shingles whether you had chicken pox, or not?

      • Sorry to get back to you late. It’s not been a fun few days. I believe the answer to your question is yes. Who is most vulnerable for chickenpox? Pregnant women, and young children who have not had chickenpox. Shingles is for people who, typically, are over 50 and have already had chickenpox. Shingles attacks the nerves, and is usually only on one side of the body in some sort of cluster and is blistery painful. I think that is all the more I can tell you, and is the extent of my knowledge. I hope this has helped?

Leave a Reply

