Skip to content

What’s your story?

March 21, 2017

We all have stories. Our lives are a story where each page is written by the choices that we make. Some of our choices are good, and some not so good. Some stories are shorter than others, and some stories read like an epic fantasy. Some stories are well written and have a good ending. Other stories may not be crafted so well, and are sometimes left unfinished. Some stories are written in madness, and some with passion. Sometimes those stories are just a big mystery. Some stories help others grow, and sometimes they are deeply spiritual or philosophical. Regardless of the story, our own stories, no matter how vast or complex all revolve around our decisions and creativity. In one of my favorite television shows, Doctor Who,  The 11th Doctor shares this thought (actually written by Steven Moffat) “…We’re all stories, in the end. Just make it a good one, eh?” This notion shared by the fictional character The Doctor, has often spoken to me. I revisit the episode on my Blu-ray  often.

There have been other moments either in television or movies that have spoken to me over time. These are things I identify with, and remember. When I have felt lonely, I remember Doctor Who in any of his regenerations. I also think of my namesake, whom I was named after, Captain Kirk. I think of the relationships that Kirk, Bones and Spock had. Other times, it’s the young dreamer, Luke Skywalker wanting to escape to the stars each time he went out to look at the twin suns. Sometimes it was teachable moments with Obi-Wan Kenobi or Yoda,  in the Star Wars movies. Believable characters inspire people in real, everyday moments. Sometimes in fiction their is a hint of truth. As Obi-Wan Kenobi said in a recent episode of Star Wars Rebels to Ezra Bridger, “The Truth is often what we make of it.”

Sometimes, there are other characters that help me through tough moments, either providing a little sarcasm and humor or a swift kick in the pants to get me motivated. Right now, the chapters in my life are pages that I wish I could re-write. There are certainly many pages that do not make sense to me, and there are most definitely very difficult moments to my story, and must remain private for now. Perhaps, as my story has had time to enfold, I might just see moments where a revision might be appropriate. It think the point I want to share is, however you live  your life, do the best in all that you can and make every moment count. You are going to have times when life does not make sense, or you might feel despair. Always know that there is hope. You are the captain of your fate as the famous poem “Invictus” cites. These are just my thoughts. I know that my future is guided by my faith. I just wanted to share some of the things that have been with me on this journey. I know, in spite of my circumstances, the source of my hope and strength is always with me. Though I talked a lot about fiction, my faith in Christ is not, and if you want to know Christ too, please follow the link.

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

